top of page

Nominalizare la Premiul Uniunii Europene pentru arhitectura contemporana - Mies van der Rohe 2019

Werk Restaurant project is nominated for the "European Union Prize for Contemporary Architecture – Mies van der Rohe" 2019

Proiectul Restaurant Werk a fost nominalizat la premiul Uniunii Europene pentru arhitectură contemporană "Mies van der Rohe" 2019

Echipa și informații suplimentare despre proiect:

Foto: Cosmin Dragomir #EUMiesAward, EU Prize for Contemporary Architecture - Mies van der Rohe Awards

Despre organizație și premiu:

About European Union Prize for Contemporary Architecture - Mies van der Rohe:

Architecture is a slow process that adapts to social, political and economic changes.

The Prize takes this statement into account and pursues the following objectives: — to recognise and commend excellence in European architecture in conceptual, social, cultural, technical and constructive terms — to highlight the European city as a model for the sustainably smart city, contributing to a sustainable European economy — to promote transnational architectural commissions throughout Europe and abroad — to increase the incorporation of architectural professionals from the EU Member States and those countries that conclude an agreement with the EU — to cultivate future clients and promoters — to find business opportunities in a broader global market — to highlight the involvement of the European Union in supporting architecture as an important element that reflects both the diversity of European architectural expression and its role as a unifying element to define a common European culture.

The Prize objectives aim at promoting and understanding the significance of quality and reflecting the complexity of Architecture's own significance in terms of technological, constructional, social, economic, cultural and aesthetic achievements.

Architecture's significance —linked with the construction market— has a social Impact and transmits a cultural message. Quality therefore refers to universal values of generic buildings, independent from their programmes: the essence of things rather than their formal values.

The idea for a Prize that would recognise and commend excellence in European architecture was proposed to the European Parliament by MP Xavier Rubert de Ventós.

On April 28 1987 —just under a year after the reconstruction of the Pavilion was completed— an agreement was signed between European Commissioner Carlo Ripa di Meana and Barcelona Mayor Pasqual Maragall to launch the 'Mies van der Rohe Award of the European Communities', with the first biennial edition being held in 1988 as the 'Mies van der Rohe Award for European Architecture'.

In 2000 the Fundació Mies van der Rohe submitted the model of the Mies van der Rohe Award —with the addition of the Emerging Architect Special Mention that recognises the work of young professionals starting out on their careers— in response to the call for proposals by the European Commission for the 'European Union Prize for Contemporary Architecture'. Upon acceptance of the Fundació's proposal, in 2001, the Mies van der Rohe Award became the official architecture prize of the European Union.

2019 Jury

A demanding jury of distinguished professionals will evaluate the works in a holistic approach, from their conception and construction phases to their final use by the people. In the 2019 cycle, the jury will by formed by:

Dorte Mandrup (Chairwoman) 1961, architect, Copenhagen Founder and Creative Director of Dorte Mandrup (1999).

George Arbid 1961, architect and critic Beirut Founding member and director of the Arab Center for Architecture in Beirut and President of the Municipality of Maasser el Chouf.

Angelika Fitz 1967, cultural theorist and curator, Vienna Director of the Arkitectuzentrum Wien since 2016.

Ștefan Ghenciulescu 1972, architect, publicist and researcher, Bucharest Editor-in-chief of the international architecture magazine “Zeppelin” and co-founder of “Zeppelin Association”.

Kamiel Klaasse 1967, architect, Amsterdam Founder of NL Architects (1997) with Walter van Dijk, Pieter Bannenberg and Marc Linneman.

María Langarita 1979, architect, Madrid Founder of Langarita-Navarro together with Víctor Navarro (2005).

Frank McDonald 1950, journalist, Dublin Environment Correspondent of the Irish Times from1979 to 1986 and Environment Editor from 2000 to 2015.

Postări recente

bottom of page